News‎ > ‎

In the News...

posted May 9, 2012, 4:46 PM by Mette B Jensen Novais
NORTH OAKVILLE TODAY – The Oakville Masters Swim Team turned in another excellent performance at the...

Oakville Masters Swim Team dominates

The Oakville Masters Swim Team turned in another excellent performance at the recently held 2012 Ontario Masters Provincial Championship, winning 40 medals (15 Gold, 13 Silver and 12 Bronze).

The swim meet was held at the Olympium Pool in Etobicoke and attracted some 600 competitive masters swimmers from across Ontario.

The Oakville Club fielded a team of  20 competitors and finished 11th out of the 60 clubs that were represented - an excellent result for such a small team.

Coach Mette Novais commented that many of her swimmers achieved personal best times at this event and their performances, year over year, continue to improve.

Of the 15 Gold medals, eight were won by women and five by men in individual events. All competitors are classified by age with each swimmer competing in their own age classification.

In the women’s individual events:

Sylvie Trembly won four Gold including the 50M Back in 34.67 (sec.), 100M Back in 1:14.86, 50M Breast in 38.72 and 100M Individual Medley (IM) in 1:14.56. She also captured a Silver in the 100M Breast.

Janice Gibbs won three Gold in her classification including the 100M Free in 1:12.94, 100M IM in 1:24.40 and 200M IM in 3:05.75. She also captured  Silver in 50 Fly and 50 Free as well as  Bronze in 100 Breast.

Amie Peddle won  Gold in 200 Breast in 3:02.12. She also captured  Silver in 100M Breast and  Bronze in 50M Breast.

Other metal winners included Erin Doherty (Silver and Bronze), Suzanne Dickison (two Silvers and one Bronze), Jennifer Agnew (Silver) and Valerie Scott (one Silver and three Bronze)

In the Men’s individual events:

Michael Liepner won four Gold including 50M Free in 35.05, 50M Back in 45.18, 50M Fly in 43.73 and  100M IM 1:38.15. He also captured  Bronze in 100M Breast.

Gord Hurd won Gold in 100M Back in 1:16.50 (a remarkable time) and Bronze in 100M IM.

Other metal winners included Micheal Laing  (Bronze) and Krzysztof Szarzynski  (Bronze)     

In the Relay Events:

Gold Metals were won in the Mixed 200M Medley Relay SCM in 2:15.07 by the team of Erin Doherty, Amie Peddle, Krzysztof Szarzynski and Micheal Laing and Women’s 200M Medley Relay SCM in 2:45.17 by the team of Valerie Scott, Kendra Olsen, Janice Gibbs and Jennifer Agnew.

Silver medals were won in the Men’s 200M Free Relay SCM in 1:59.60 by the team of Todd Boone, Micheal Laing, John Shaughnessy and Micheal Parker and in the Men’s 200 Free Relay SCM in 2:04.38 by the team of Robert Jones, Micheal Liepner, Krzysztof Szarzynski and Gord Hurd.

Bronze was won in the Women’s 200 Free Relay in 2:08.75 by the Team of Sylvie Tremblay. Janice Gibbs, Amie Peddle and Erin Doherty.